News‎ > ‎

Dean Cesar E.A. Virata fetes new PhD faculty members

posted May 23, 2018, 12:34 AM by Zike Baoy

Dean Cesar E.A. Virata hosted a lunch in honor of the six new PhD faculty members of the UP Virata School of Business on 16 May 2018 at Mario’s, Quezon City. To date, twenty (49%) of 41 full time faculty members of the School have PhDs. 

The six new PhD faculty members produced by the School during 2015-2018 are:

1. Dr. Erik Paolo S. Capistrano PhD International Management, 2015
National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
2. Dr. Dave DG. Centeno PhD Marketing, 2016
City University of Hong Kong
3. Dr. Maria Regina Lucia M. Lizares PhD Business Administration, 2018
UP Cesar E.A. Virata School of Business
4. Dr. Dani Rose Cresencia C. Salazar PhD Business Administration (Finance), 2018
Sookmyung Women's University, South Korea
5. Dr. Charlotte Justine Diokno-Sicat PhD Business Administration, 2017
UP Cesar E.A. Virata School of Business
6. Dr. Debbie Chua Bun Pho-Wong PhD Accounting, 2017
University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

Four of the six new PhDs completed their degrees from international universities. Capistrano, Centeno and Salazar obtained fellowships from their foreign universities while Lizares, Diokno-Sicat and Wong were supported by UP fellowships.

Accompanying the new PhDs were:  Dean Ben Paul B. Gutierrez, Dr. Daniel Vincent H. Borja, Chair, Department of Accounting and Finance and Dr. Ma. Gloria V. Talavera, Chair, Department of Business Administration.